Invisible Illness Week

30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know

1. The illness I live with is:  Rheumatoid Arthritis

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: 1970 something

3.  But I had symptoms since: 8 yrs old
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: Dealing with fatigue, not being able to do things I want.

5. Most people assume:  Arthritis means the aches and pains that we all get.

6. The hardest part about mornings are: Getting ready for work and out the door on time and still having energy for work LOL.

7. My favorite medical TV show is: n/a
8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: Microplane in the kitchen
9. The hardest part about nights are:  Waking up with extreme pain in my knee – can’t get back to sleep
10. Each day I take  6 pills and a gold injection once per week
11. Regarding alternative treatments I: Am always open to new ideas
12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: Invisible is good
13. Regarding working and career: Can be a real struggle when in a flare
14. People would be surprised to know: That I am always in discomfort and often in pain
15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: Lack or energy
16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: Maintaining FT employment
17. The commercials about my illness: What commercials?
18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is:  Wearing pretty shoes
19. It was really hard to have to give up: Being able to be spontaneous.
20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: Cooking with foods to help my RA
21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: Clean my house, go shopping, out for lunch, cook a big meal and have energy left to go dancing
22. My illness has taught me: To be an active participant in my own health care
23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: Oh yeah, I have that too.
24. But I love it when people: Offer to help without making a big deal.
25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is:  Where there’s a will – there’s a way.
26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: A positive outlook and can-do attitude is key
27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: How it can vary so much from one day to the next.
28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: Give me a pedicure
29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I am doing my part to bring awareness
30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: Glad that I posted it

Find out more about National Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness Week and the 5-day free virtual conference with 20 speakers Sept 14-18, 2009 at www.invisibleillness.com

About Arthritis Kitchen

Living Authentically - Striving for Wellness - Navigating Through Illness – Speaking from the Heart.

Posted on September 3, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

