Chicken Curry with Ginger and Turmeric

Pasta night 003I have be getting some great results experimenting with ginger and turmeric in my cooking.   When I research ingredients that are supposed to reduce inflammation and help the symptoms of arthritis ginger and turmeric are always high on the list. Pairing these flavors together in a curry served over rice is a real favorite of The Arthritis Kitchen.

Ingredients for tonights chicken curryI planned to serve this with broccoli on the side but when I got everything all prepped I realized that I had a good amount of veg already so made this a great one dish meal.  Using ginger and turmeric as the main flavor ingredients in this curry gives it all the flavor you are looking for but without the heat that is usually associated with madras curry powder which I used to use.  This is a big hit in my house as my man who is not fond of anything spicy absolutely loves this.  I thought I was over zealous with the ginger (having too much fun with my new microplane) but in the end it was just perfect.

Turmeric Ginger Chicken Curry

  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, diced tossed in seasoned flour
  • 1 cup rice
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 small carrot
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 granny smith apple
  • 1 generous Tbs grated ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp madras curry
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pinch of sugar
  • pinch chili flakes (optional)
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup milk or light cream or coconut milk
  • 2 Tbs flat leaf parsley
About Arthritis Kitchen

Living Authentically - Striving for Wellness - Navigating Through Illness – Speaking from the Heart.

Posted on October 5, 2009, in Anti-imflammatory ingredients, Foods Known to Help Arthritis, Recipes / Cooking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

