Pan-Seared Venison with Rosemary, Currants and Tart Cherries

Venison 003

I made mouth watering, delicious venison chops last night.  I went to the butcher intending to buy lamb chops but when I saw the venison I just couldn’t resist.  I used a recipe I have tried before from Epicurious as the base and tweaked it along the way with very good, four star results. The recipe uses tart cherries as a feature ingredient for the sauce and this is very high on the list of foods that are excellent for people with Arthritis. I don’t use this ingredient often and love it when I can add it to my cooking.  This sauce could easily be used with pork or beef tenderloin or lamb chops instead of the venison which may be hard to find or not to everyone’s taste.

Arthritis Kitchen’s Pan-Seared Venison with Rosemary, Currants and Tart Cherries.

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2  venison tenderloin chops
  • 1/4 cup dry red wine
  • 1 tablespoon tart cherry concentrate
  • 3/4 cup homemade  stock
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon blueberry compote
  • 1 tablespoon dried currants – rehydrated

Venison is a very lean meat and you need to be careful not to overcook it.  I first made a mixture of finely chopped rosemary, garlic, salt, pepper and olive oil and rubbed it on the chops then seared 1 1/2 min on each side then into a 400 degree oven for 8 minutes then rested covered in foil for 5 minutes.  As soon as the chops were in the oven I deglazed the pan with the wine, added the stock and rest of the ingredients and reduced to a sauce like consistency.  As the sauce reduced I added a branch of rosemary which I first rolled on the cutting board to ‘bruise’ and release its flavors.  This steeped until ready to serve and was then discarded – the rosemary branch added an additional layer of flavor that really made this dish stand out.

Because the venison was a very hands on recipe, I chose very easy sides.   The baby potatoes are the Arthritis Kitchen Tip of the Day.  These gems are yellow fleshed potatoes from The Little Potato Company and are pre-washed and all the same size, which is tiny.  I made a small X on the top of each on then microwaved them for 10 minutes.  It could not have been easier and they were light and creamy with very tender skins.

  • Venison
About Arthritis Kitchen

Living Authentically - Striving for Wellness - Navigating Through Illness – Speaking from the Heart.

Posted on October 24, 2009, in Foods Known to Help Arthritis, Recipes / Cooking, Tips for Cooking with Arthritis, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I really like venison and this sounds very tasty.
    I have heard that sour cherries are very good for you.
    Thanks for posting this.
    Nora

Leave a Reply

