Wonton Soup with Ginger

Wonton Soup

Last night in the Arthritis Kitchen we had a warming and satisfying wonton soup.  I used a generous amount of fresh ginger in both the filling for the wontons as well as the broth to give this dish a good dose of inflammation fighting power for my rheumatoid arthritis.  I buy wonton wrappers from the store and then make my own filling.  Wonton wrappers are really easy to work with and while this recipe is time consuming, the results are worth it.   Once you get the hang of it, shaping the wontons goes quickly.  The recipe for the filling is the one I always use and I vary the add in’s for the soup depending on what I feel like or what I have.

Filling for Wontons

  • 1 lb ground pork -chopped
  • 2 ounces cooked shrimp or prawns – diced fine
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon rice wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon ginger – grated or very finely minced
  • 2 tablespoons green onion – white part, finely minced (save green parts for garnish)
  • 3 grinds black pepper
  • ½ teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 8 ounce package wonton wrappers

Combine all ingredients for the filling and set aside in fridge for 30 min.  Wonton wrappers are very easy to work with and are very forgiving.  I lay them out assembly line style and get 12 sheets at a time on my cutting board.  There is a light dusting of cornstarch on one side – place that side down on your work surface.  Fill with a small amount of filling – about 1/2 tsp.  Brush 2 edges with water.  I find this is the right amount to get them to hold together without being too sloppy.  When working assembly line style, I use a pastry brush to quickly dampen the edges – I do 6 at a time.  Gather up all 4 points of the wonton wrapper and push them firmly together in the center to form a seal and gently seal the edges.

Make wontons and lay out on a tray of cookie sheet.   Place in freezer for at least 15 minutes.  Adding the wontons to the stock when they are frozen helps them hold their shape.  You can keep left over wontons in a ziplock bag in the freezer. This made 60 individual wontons.  Makes a great quick soup when you have some already made!  You can also serve these as a snack.  Boil them in water, drain, add soy sauce, green onions of other fresh herb or seasoning of choiceand eat like a pasta.  You’d be surprised how satisfying it is and its so easy and quick.

Making the Broth

You will need 6-8 cups of stock.  I like to use homemade when I have it.  This time I didn’t so I used 1 container each of  low sodium beef and chicken stock.  You could also us a vegetable stock or even just water seasoned with some ginger, soy sauce, sesame oil as the broth for the soup.  I add 4 thick slices of ginger to the broth right away and will remove it before serving.  Bring broth to boil.  Add in any vegetable you are using.  I like bok choy, mostly the white parts, with a small amount of tender green leaves sliced thinly.  Add in 1 Tbs soy sauce (optional) and several drops of sesame oil (optional).  When stock is boiling, add in frozen wontons.  I used 20 for this batch of soup.  Cook at a low gentle boil for about 10 min.  Wontons will rise to the top as they begin to cook.  I used some chopped green onion and thinly sliced carrot as a garnish for both color and texture.   The use of fresh ginger in both the broth and the wonton are what I really like about this recipe.  It gives you such a warming from the inside feeling.  Ginger is so good for your overall health and is an Arthritis Kitchen favorite ingredient for its flavor and  anti-inflammatory effects.  This of benefit for anyone with any sort of inflammation in the body.  Note, to receive the health benefits, use fresh ginger  not powdered or dried ginger.

About Arthritis Kitchen

Living Authentically - Striving for Wellness - Navigating Through Illness – Speaking from the Heart.

Posted on December 6, 2009, in Foods Known to Help Arthritis, Recipes / Cooking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh boy – I love wonton soup and this recipe looks amazing. I can’t wait to try it.

    • arthritiskitchen

      Thanks, with this cold weather soup is great isn’t it! I had the leftovers for lunch today and as with most soups….even better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

