Meatloaf

My family requested that I make a meatloaf for dinner when I came home from my weekend away.   I served it with creamy Yukon gold potatoes and steamed carrots.  It was a very comforting home style dinner.  The secret ingredient to my meatloaf is using half a package of Lipton Onion Soup.  Crush the onions into smaller bits so they are not too large.  Add bread crumbs, an egg and freshly ground black pepper to taste.   Mix all together and place into a small loaf pan to shape the loaf.  Invert into a glass baking dish and bake at 350 for 1 hour or until done.  For the last 20 min of baking spoon over the glaze which is a mixture of ketchup, a bit of mustard and some brown sugar.

The nutritional star of this meal was the carrots.   Carrots are an excellent source of vitamin A which supports your vision and immune system and also provide a good level of vitamin K which can protect your bones from weakness and fracture.   I’ve been steaming carrots whole lately and then dressing them lightly with butter and some parsley.  They turn out delicious and the Arthritis Kitchen benefit is that there is no chopping required.

About Arthritis Kitchen

Living Authentically - Striving for Wellness - Navigating Through Illness – Speaking from the Heart.

Posted on January 28, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I make the same glaze for my meatloaf, but add a 1/2 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar–the star ingredient on this blog! I know it’s not much, quantity wise, to be of much health benefit, but it adds a nice zing to the glaze. I also add a squirt of ketchup into the meatloaf itself and a few shakes of Worcestershire sauce.

Leave a Reply

